Alabama WR DeVonta Smith wins 2020 Heisman Memorial Trophy

Alabama Crimson Tide star enormous receiver DeVonta Smith was awarded the 2020 Heisman Memorial Trophy all through a digital ceremony Tuesday night.

Smith beat out Alabama quarterback Mac Jones, Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence and Florida quarterback Kyle Trask for school soccer’s most prestigious award.

Smith acquired 447 first-place votes (1,856 elements), whereas Lawrence ended with 222 first-place votes (1,187 elements) to finish second. Jones accomplished the third (138, 1,130) and Trask fourth (61, 737).

The 22-year-old Smith turns into the third participant from Alabama to say the trophy, turning into a member of working backs Mark Ingram (2009) and Derrick Henry (2015). He can be the first receiver to win the Heisman since Michigan’s Desmond Howard in 1991.

“To all the young kids out there that are not the biggest, not the strongest, just keep pushing,” Smith talked about all through his acceptance speech. “Because I’m not the biggest. I’ve been doubted a lot because of my size. And really, it just comes down to you put your mind to it, you can do it. No job is too big.”

Smith, who’s listed at 6-foot-1 and 175 kilos, leads the Football Bowl Subdivision in receptions (105), receiving yards (1,641), and receiving touchdowns (20) this season. He has dropped solely two passes in 2020.

The Heisman Trophy presentation received right here six days sooner than Smith performs for his second nationwide championship. The Crimson Tide will play the Ohio State Buckeyes on Jan. 11 at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Fla.

During his freshman season in 2017, Smith caught the game-winning touchdown from former Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa to beat Georgia and supplies the Crimson Tide its newest nationwide title.

Since then, Smith has climbed in Alabama’s doc books, turning into the varsity’s all-time major receiver all through its SEC championship victory over Florida last month. The senior wideout needs solely 10 further receiving yards to surpass Jordan Matthews (3,759) due to the conference’s all-time chief in yards.

Earlier this season, Smith broke ex-Alabama receiver Amari Cooper’s faculty doc of 16 touchdowns. Smith’s 43 occupation receiving scores have already eclipsed the sooner SEC doc of 31.

Be the first to comment on "Alabama WR DeVonta Smith wins 2020 Heisman Memorial Trophy"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.